Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals, 39th Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals, 39th Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary.

Series: Indian Premier League 2022

Venue: Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

Date & Time: Apr 26, 07:30 PM LOCAL


The 2022 edition of the Indian T20 League has already provided plenty of memorable con‐ tests and in match number 39 Bangalore will take on Rajasthan at the MCA Stadium in Pune in what will be the second meeting between the two sides in this year’s competition. Last time around Bangalore did win the match by 14 runs.

Two sides who have generally impressed and are currently level on points as well. Rajasthan do have a game in hand and a win here will send them temporarily to the top of the table.

It might not be a surprise if Rajasthan do win because they have a few individ‐ uals in scintillating form. Jos Buttler hit his third ton of this year’s competition in the previous match and seems unstoppable. Yuzvendra Chahal is the leading wicket-taker and has been ever so consis‐ tent.

Another plus for Rajasthan is the form of Prasidh Krishna and what a brilliant spell he bowled last time around against Delhi. Bangalore on the other hand suffered an embarrassing defeat against Hyderabad in their last match as they were bundled out for 68 runs.

They did however win the reverse fixture in a closely-fought encounter and will take a lot of [positives from that. Josh Hazlewood and the entire bowling department has been generally pretty consistent and it is the up and down form of their top-order batters that has been their downfall.

Former skipper Virat Kohli needs a big score to bolster his confidence and without him firing, Bangalore will find it diffi‐ cult as the tournament goes on. Right then, two teams who are gunning to stamp their authority in the top four and it surely is an encounter that will provide a lot of entertainment. Who are you backing?

Venue Info

The Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, also known as the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium is situated in Pune and boasts of a 55,000 seating capacity. It is home to the state team of Maharashtra and also acts as headquarters for the Maharashtra Cricket Association. The ground hosted its first IPL game in 2012, when the home team Pune Warriors India took on Kings XI Punjab. Later, it also hosted its maiden international game, when India played England in a T20I.

What to expect: The wickets at the MCA Stadium have had a bit of a mid-season breather thanks to the rescheduling of the two Delhi Capitals games this week. That might just push the teams into chasing once more despite some signs of tiring wickets in the competition. That said chasing teams have a 50% win record here this season.

Head to Head: RCB 13-10 RR. The Royal Challengers have won each of their last five encounters against Rajasthan Royals, dating back to the 2020 season. The reverse fixture this season saw a chasing masterclass from Karthik, who swung the momentum towards his side with a clinical takedown of his statemate R. Ashwin.

Team Watch:

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Unavailable: None

Tactics & Matchups:

Wanindu Hasaranga has dismissed Sanju Samson four times in five innings and will be an obvious plan of attack against the Royals captain. With Anuj Rawat unable to provide the PowerPlay impetus, RCB could also consider moving Kohli up to open and bring in Mahipal Lomror as a left-handed floater in the middle-order.

Probable XI: Faf du Plessis (c), Anuj Rawat/Mahipal Lomror, Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Suyash Prabhudesai, Shahbaz Ahmed, Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Josh Hazlewood, Mohammed Siraj

Rajasthan Royals

Unavailable: None

Tactics & Matchups:

If the left-arm swing of Marcon Jansen was a problem, then RCB have little in the form of respite. Rajasthan Royals can throw Trent Boult and Obed McCoy to poke at their opposition’s insecurities. Samson erred tactically in the reverse fixture by not bringing on Chahal into the attack straight upon Karthik’s arrival to the crease. It may have had to do with Shahbaz Ahmed’s presence at the other end but Karthik has a particularly poor record against legspinners, particularly against Chahal who has dismissed him thrice.

Probable XI: Jos Buttler, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson (c&wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Karun Nair, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, Obed McCoy, Yuzvendra Chahal

Did you know?

– Wanindu Hasaranga has bowled his full quota of overs only once in the last four games

– At the halfway mark in the league phase, Buttler is 58 runs ahead of where Kohli was in the 2016 season when he scored the record-setting 973 runs.

– Among batters with more than 200 runs in the league, only Dinesh Karthik (200) and Liam Livingstone (182.26) have a higher strike-rate than Shimron Hetmyer’s 179.20

What they said:

“He [Kohli] is somebody who has consistently performed for RCB. Players go through these kinds of rough patches. He started the season really well, nearly hitting the winning runs in Pune, but then you have an odd run-out or the first edge that finds his bat lands in the fielder’s hands. He is doing his fitness and skills and taking good breaks and not letting the pressure get to him.” – RCB coach Sanjay Bangar is hopeful his star batter will return to his best very soon.

“In Yuzi I found a partner who understands the game and batters really well, we have great discussions off the field and on the field we keep communication with Sanju, it’s something we are enjoying and I just keep my fingers crossed that it goes really well.” – R. Ashwin is enjoying playing alongside the in-form Yuzvendra Chahal.


Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad: Faf du Plessis(c), Anuj Rawat, Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Suyash Prabhudessai, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik(w), Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Josh Hazlewood, Mohammed Siraj, Jason Behrendorff, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Sherfane Rutherford, Siddarth Kaul, Karn Sharma, David Willey, Chama V Milind, Rajat Patidar, Akash Deep, Aneeshwar Gautam

Rajasthan Royals Squad: Jos Buttler, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson(w/c), Shimron Hetmyer, Karun Nair, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, Obed McCoy, Yuzvendra Chahal, James Neesham, Rassie van der Dussen, Navdeep Saini, KC Cariappa, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Daryl Mitchell, Tejas Baroka, Kuldip Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anunay Singh, Kuldeep Sen, Dhruv Jurel, Shubham Garhwal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *