Punjab Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 28th Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary

Punjab Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 28th Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary.

Series: Indian Premier League 2022

Venue: Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai

Date & Time: Apr 17, 03:30 PM LOCAL

What to expect: The afternoon starts are going to make for much hotter conditions but dew won’t dictate terms as much.

Head to Head

SRH 18-6 PBKS. Hyderabad’s overall dominance is unmissable, but since 2018 the two teams have clashed eight times and won equally.

Team Watch

Punjab Kings

Tactics & Matchups: A common denominator in SRH’s slow going in powerplays this year has been captain Williamson’s dud starts (63 runs and 3 dismissals) – a weakness Punjab would look to exploit too with the new ball.

Having already delivered three crucial 18th overs this season against well-set batters for a combined 13 runs (3 vs RCB, 5 each vs GT & MI), Arshdeep Singh is going to be vital at death for Punjab’s bowling that has usually been on the expensive side.

Probable XI: Mayank Agarwal (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma, Shahrukh Khan, Odeon Smith, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Vaibhav Arora

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Tactics & Matchups: T Natarajan had just three PowerPlay wickets to his name in 22 overs in IPL previously, but he’s picked up four already in this phase this year. Against Punjab’s gung-ho batting approach – a team that currently has the highest run-rate (10.17) and boundary percentage (25.6%) in powerplays, how he fares with the new ball is going to hold the key for Hyderabad.

Probable XI: Abhishek Sharma, Kane Williamson (C), Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran, Shashank Singh, J Suchith, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Marco Jansen, Umran Malik, T Natarajan

Did you know?

-Kane Williamson has won all five tosses while Mayank Agarwal has not won one since Punjab’s opening game against RCB.

– Of the 7 Powerplay totals of 60 or more this IPL, four of them have been Punjab’s.

– Rahul Tripathi’s tournament strike-rate of 178.13 is highest by anyone who bats in the top-three.

What they said?

Like any team that is starting fresh, we have got a lot of new faces in the squad. It’s finding their way, feeling settled in the environment, feeling settled with their roles in the team, just getting their feet under the table. We obviously had a poor start in the first game, in the second game we found ourselves in a position where we should have won and now we have had three on the bounce. So, I think everyone’s sort of feeling comfortable with the balance of the side, comfortable with the roles they have got in the side and confidence is a big thing. We have got some good confidence out of that first win and we have built from there – SRH head coach Tom Moody on the reason behind the team’s turnaround


Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad: Abhishek Sharma, Kane Williamson(c), Rahul Tripathi, Nicholas Pooran(w), Aiden Markram, Shashank Singh, Jagadeesha Suchith, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Marco Jansen, Umran Malik, T Natarajan, Sean Abbott, Ravikumar Samarth, Shreyas Gopal, Glenn Phillips, Vishnu Vinod, Priyam Garg, Kartik Tyagi, Romario Shepherd, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abdul Samad, Saurabh Dubey

Punjab Kings Squad: Mayank Agarwal(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma(w), Shahrukh Khan, Odean Smith, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Vaibhav Arora, Arshdeep Singh, Benny Howell, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Sandeep Sharma, Rishi Dhawan, Baltej Singh, Writtick Chatterjee, Prerak Mankad, Ishan Porel, Atharva Taide, Prabhsimran Singh, Harpreet Brar, Nathan Ellis, Ansh Patel, Raj Bawa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *