Mumbai Indians vs Lucknow Super Giants, 26th Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary

Mumbai Indians vs Lucknow Super Giants, 26th Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary.

Series: Indian Premier League 2022


Date & Time: Apr 16, 03:30 PM LOCAL

About Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

One of the oldest stadiums of India, it was established in 1937, this stadium seems to have lost its splendour now except for an occasional first class match that is played here. This ground is not as big as compared to other grounds in Mumbai with a capacity of 20000.

The stadium was built on a piece of land which Lord Brabourne, the then Governor of Bombay, presented to the Cricket Club of India after being tempted with an offer of immortality in the bargain. It was officially opened on December 7 1937 and hosted its first test from December 9-13, 1948 between India and the West Indies. Designed by Neville de Mello, he wanted this ground to be the Lords of India.

One day cricket was brought to this ground in 1989 when Australia played Pakistan. After it was built, the Pentangular shifted here from the Bombay Gymkhana in 1937-38 and it was here that Vijay Merchant – Vijay Hazare rivalry was played out. When Wankhede was built, this ground completely lost its charm, until India played Australia in a T20 match in 2007.

What to expect: With an afternoon start, the conditions will be fairly hotter for Mumbai Indians, who played their last three games in the evenings in Pune. With small boundaries on offer, expect a run-fest. Toss may not play a big role in this contest.

Team Watch:

Mumbai Indians

Tactics & Matchups: Mumbai Indians might look to beef up their lower middle order, especially given that Lucknow Super Giants have been poor in the death overs. LSG seamers have gone at 10.87 while six overs from their spinners in this phase have leaked 83 runs (ER 13.83).

Probable XI: Ishan Kishan (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Fabian Allen, Murugan Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat/Basil Thampi, Tymal Mills

Lucknow Super Giants

Tactics & Matchups: No team has employed more overs of spin in the middle overs than LSG and they also lead in wickets charts for this phase, all going at under run-a-ball. LSG have all varieties of spin in their arsenal and have been selectively deploying them on a case-by-case basis. K Gowtham was brought in against left-hander heavy sides like DC and RR while Krunal was not used at all against RR. Ravi Bishnoi has enjoyed reasonable success against MI batters (Surya, Rohit, Kishan and Pollard) and has managed to keep them quiet.

Probable XI: KL Rahul (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Deepak Hooda, Marcus Stoinis, Ayush Badoni, Jason Holder, Krunal Pandya, K Gowtham, Dushmantha Chameera, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan

Did you know?

– Mumbai Indians have started the 2022 season with five defeats. Only twice in IPL have a team had a longer losing sequence at the start of the season – six each by Delhi Daredevils in 2013 and RCB in 2019.

– Five defeats for Mumbai Indians is also their joint-longest losing sequence in IPL. They lost each of their first five matches in 2014 edition and the first four matches in 2015 which was preceded by a loss in the Eliminator in the previous season.

– Outside of the Powerplay, Ishan Kishan’s strike rate in T20s this year is only 122.63.

What they said:

“It is still a champion team. It’s not ‘used to be’. It is still a champion team and it will always be a champion team. It’s just a matter of a few games” – Suryakumar Yadav, Mumbai Indians batter.

“We have a lot of all-rounders, so many options and so we could shuffle the batting order a bit. We like to be a bit unpredictable a bit,” KL Rahul, Lucknow Super Giants captain, on his team.


Mumbai Indians Squad: Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Jaydev Unadkat, Murugan Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Tymal Mills, Basil Thampi, Fabian Allen, Daniel Sams, Tim David, Riley Meredith, Anmolpreet Singh, Sanjay Yadav, Ramandeep Singh, Mayank Markande, Aryan Juyal, Hrithik Shokeen, Rahul Buddhi, Arshad Khan, Arjun Tendulkar

Lucknow Super Giants Squad: KL Rahul(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Deepak Hooda, Marcus Stoinis, Ayush Badoni, Jason Holder, Krishnappa Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Dushmantha Chameera, Avesh Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Manish Pandey, Shahbaz Nadeem, Manan Vohra, Kyle Mayers, Evin Lewis, Ankit Rajpoot, Andrew Tye, Mohsin Khan, Karan Sharma, Mayank Yadav

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *