Gujarat Titans vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 43rd Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary

Gujarat Titans vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 43rd Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary.

Series: Indian Premier League 2022

Venue: Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

Date & Time: Apr 30, 03:30 PM LOCAL

Brabourne Stadium


EndsPavilion End, Church Gate End
LocationMumbai, India
Time ZoneUTC +05:30
Home toMumbai

Indian Premier League 2022 matches scheduled at this venue

10:00 GMTGT vs RCB, 43rd Match
14:00 GMTDC vs SRH, 50th Match
14:00 GMTGT vs MI, 51st Match
14:00 GMTRCB vs PBKS, 60th Match
14:00 GMTLSG vs RR, 63rd Match
14:00 GMTRR vs CSK, 68th Match

Venue Description:

Owned by the Cricket Club of India (CCI), Brabourne Stadium is India’s first permanent sporting venue. Established in 1937, the stadium was built on reclaimed land along the Marine Drive in South Mumbai. It is named after Lord Brabourne, then the Governor of Bombay. The story goes that the land was presented to the CCI after Lord Brabourne was wooed by an offer of immortality for this piece of land. On May 22, 1936, the foundation stone was laid by Lord Brabourne. On December 7 next year, the CCI XI played the visiting Lord Tennyson’s XI to officially inaugurate the ground.

Due to constant ticketing disputes with the CCI, the Bombay Cricket Association (BCA) built the famous Wankhede Stadium around 700 metres away from Brabourne stadium. After that, the stadium was only used for first-class matches and Test matches were played at the Wankhede. However, in recent years, international cricket has made a way back to the stadium. The ground played host to 5 Champions Trophy games in 2006, including the final. The first T20 International in India, between India and Australia, was also played here. In 2009, the stadium hosted its first Test match in 36 years, when India locked horns with Sri Lanka, a game that the hosts won by an innings and 24 runs. Many of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 matches also took place here.

The Brabourne stadium was the home venue of Mumbai Indians in 2010. The ground was used for all the seven home games in IPL-3, since Wankhede Stadium was unavailable as it was being refurbished for the 2011 World Cup. In 2014, IPL returned to the ground after a gap of 3 years, when the eliminator match between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings was played at this venue. Apart from cricket, the ground has been used for several other events that include tennis and football matches, political events, and music concerts among others.

How does the pitch play?

The pitch usually plays well throughout and is considered good for batting. From time to time, the pitch offers some slow turn as well. In 2010, Mumbai Indians turned the Brabourne Stadium into a fortress of sorts, winning 6 of their 7 home games here. In the 2014 eliminator, Mumbai Indians made 173 in their innings and Chennai Super Kings chased it down easily in the 19th over, with 7 wickets in hand.

Interesting facts related to the Brabourne Stadium:

In 1997-98, in a tour game between Mumbai and Australia, Sachin Tendulkar scored his first double hundred in first-class cricket, helping Mumbai beat the fancied Australians.

The headquarters of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) was located at the Brabourne Stadium till 2006. In fact, the 1983 World Cup trophy was also kept here. However, the headquarters as well as the trophy were moved to the Wankhede Stadium after 2006.

by Sidhant Maheshwari


Total matches18
Matches won batting first2
Matches won bowling first5
Average 1st Inns scores339
Average 2nd Inns scores351
Average 3rd Inns scores254
Average 4th Inns scores150
Highest total recorded726/9 (163.3 Ov) by IND vs SL
Lowest total recorded88/10 (33.3 Ov) by IND vs NZ


Total matches9
Matches won batting first5
Matches won bowling first4
Average 1st Inns scores188
Average 2nd Inns scores139
Highest total recorded377/5 (50 Ov) by IND vs WI
Lowest total recorded80/10 (30.4 Ov) by WI vs SL
Highest score chased166/3 (36 Ov) by SL vs NZ
Lowest score defended180/5 (40 Ov) by RSA vs WI


Total matches8
Matches won batting first2
Matches won bowling first6
Average 1st Inns scores157
Average 2nd Inns scores147
Highest total recorded209/4 (20 Ov) by AUSW vs ENGW
Lowest total recorded96/10 (17.4 Ov) by ENGW vs AUSW
Highest score chased199/3 (18.4 Ov) by ENGW vs INDW
Lowest score defended186/5 (20 Ov) by AUSW vs INDW

What to expect: The afternoon game should force the captain to bat first with dew not a consideration. The last two afternoon matches at the venue have been won by the teams batting first.

Team news:

Gujarat Titans

Tactics & Matchups: Mohammed Shami has picked the most number of wickets in the powerplay this season while Kohli has survived the first six overs only once in six innings so far. Shami has dismissed Kohli four times in the IPL in 46 balls and has given just 62 runs. The former RCB captain averages just 15.50 against the pacer and GT will look to exploit that matchup. Another tough afternoon in store for Kohli?

Probable XI: Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya (c), Abhinav Manohar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Alzarri Joseph, Lockie Ferguson, Yash Dayal, Mohammed Shami.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Tactics & Matchups: The batting positions that average the most this season for RCB are No. 6 and No. 7. Dinesh Karthik and Shahbaz Ahmed have done their jobs but the stat also reflects how poorly the RCB top order has performed. The four of Kohli, Anuj Rawat, Suyash Prabhudessai and Rajat Patidar have a combined aggregate of 340 runs in 23 innings among them at 14.78 and an SR of 113.33. GT have picked the most wickets in the powerplay this season and RCB surely cannot afford another poor start. The fate of the game will depend on how the RCB batters handle the GT pacers.

Probable XI: Faf du Plessis (c), Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Suyash Prabhudessai, Rajat Patidar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Josh Hazlewood, Mohammed Siraj

Did you know?

– In RCB’s last fixture at Brabourne, they folded for 68 – the lowest total of IPL 2022 so far.

– GT have won four run chases in the last over, two of them off the last ball. Only CSK in the 2012 season won more matches off the last ball of a run chase more often in a single edition – three – than GT’s two this season.

What they said:

“(Virat Kohli) is a great cricketer. He’s experienced these highs and lows many times before. I’ve observed him from close quarters. He has the spirit and he’ll emerge from these run of low scores in the last few games” – Sanjay Sanjay Bangar.


Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad: Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Suyash Prabhudessai, Dinesh Karthik(w), Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Hazlewood, David Willey, Jason Behrendorff, Chama V Milind, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Anuj Rawat, Sherfane Rutherford, Akash Deep, Aneeshwar Gautam, Karn Sharma, Siddarth Kaul

Gujarat Titans Squad: Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya(c), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Abhinav Manohar, Rashid Khan, Alzarri Joseph, Lockie Ferguson, Yash Dayal, Mohammed Shami, Pradeep Sangwan, Matthew Wade, Varun Aaron, Jayant Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Darshan Nalkande, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Dominic Drakes, Sai Sudharsan, Noor Ahmad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *