Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 27th Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary

Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 27th Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary.

Series: Indian Premier League 2022

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Date & Time: Apr 16, 07:30 PM LOCAL

About Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. There cannot be enough said about this ground. The Eden Gardens is no doubt the oldest stadium in India but the cricketing cauldron of the country lies in the city of Mumbai. The stadium came into existence due to disputes between the CCI and the MCA, two cricketing bodies that have their offices in the city.

The CCI-owned Brabourne Stadium was the main venue till then and some issues with MCA caused S.K.Wankhede, the secretary of the latter and also a politician to build a brand-new stadium.

It was made in 1975 and hosted its first Test the same year against the Windies. Since then, the Wankhede stadium has been the main cricketing venue in the city. It plays hosts to the Indian cricket team, the Mumbai Ranji team and the Mumbai franchise in the Indian Twenty20 league. The ground underwent reconstruction before the 2011 World Cup and was then made ready to host the final of the mega-event.

The renovation was done for the breeze to be able to flow freely across the stadium and also for the viewers to watch the game without hindrances. The ground has seen a number of brilliant games being played here, international and domestic.

The most important game held so far will have to be the 2011 World Cup final when India lifted the trophy after 28 years. It’s home to two of the biggest names, Sunil Gavaskar and Sachin Tendulkar, and the latter also played his 200th Test and final international game at the same venue. With a capacity of around 33, 000 and a closed amphitheatre-type formation, it gets really loud at times. Short boundaries and a true pitch more often than not promise a good game. As of now, it has hosted more than 50 international games and there is no reason why the ground will not go on to host more.

What to expect:

Four out of the five games at the Wankhede stadium in IPL 2022 have been won by teams chasing. There has also been distinct assistance for seamers, particularly early in the first innings.

IPL Head to Head: DC 10 – RCB 16

Team Watch

Delhi Capitals

Tactics and Matchups: David Warner has eight fifties and a hundred against RCB while Rishabh Pant has four fifties in 11 innings against them. The duo, along with Prithvi Shaw, are shouldering a major load of DC’s batting and will be the key for DC. Both Pant and Shaw have a strike rate in excess of 150 against Mohammad Siraj but have fallen to have five times in total.

Probable XI: David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant (c/wk), Rovman Powell, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mustafizur Rahman, Khaleel Ahmed

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Tactics and Matchups: There are a couple of battles centred around spin that could play a big part in the game. Glenn Maxwell has dismissed Pant twice in just 12 balls, while Faf du Plessis has a negative match-up against Axar Patel, falling to him thrice and a strike rate of just 110 against the leftie. These two battles could well dictate how the batting innings go for the respective teams.

Probable XI: Faf du Plessis, Anuj Rawat, Virat Kohli, Shahbaz Ahmed, Glenn Maxwell, Suyash Prabhudesai, Dinesh Karthik, Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Mohammad Siraj, Josh Hazlewood

Did you know

– RCB have conceded the most sixes so far (54) while DC have conceded the fewest (24)

– Prithvi Shaw has dominated the Powerplay phase like no other batter this season, having a strike rate of 167 and averaging 112

What they said:

The ball swings at the Wankhede Stadium and therefore we have been waiting to play there. We are excited and hopefully, we can utilize the conditions, swing the ball well and take wickets – Khaleel Ahmed, DC Pacer


Delhi Capitals Squad: Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Lalit Yadav, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Sarfaraz Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Mustafizur Rahman, Khaleel Ahmed, Mandeep Singh, Srikar Bharat, Tim Seifert, Lungi Ngidi, Ashwin Hebbar, Mitchell Marsh, Praveen Dubey, Anrich Nortje, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Chetan Sakariya, Ripal Patel, Yash Dhull, Vicky Ostwal

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad: Faf du Plessis(c), Anuj Rawat, Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Suyash Prabhudessai, Dinesh Karthik(w), Wanindu Hasaranga, Akash Deep, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Hazlewood, Siddarth Kaul, David Willey, Sherfane Rutherford, Karn Sharma, Jason Behrendorff, Chama V Milind, Rajat Patidar, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Aneeshwar Gautam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *